Morton County boasts two fine school systems in USD 218 in Elkhart and USD 217 in Rolla. Both districts have Pre-K through grade 12.  Special programs offered for migrant, gifted, and special education students. 

Point Rock Alternative is a non-traditional high school program offered by USD 218, it offers extended school hours and flexible scheduling for adults who want to earn a high school diploma.

Operated in partnership with USD 218, students throughout Kansas are thriving at Kansas Connections Academy, a tuition free online public school, serving students K-12.

Post secondary education is available withing driving distance. Seward County Community College and Technical School and Oklahoma Panhandle State University are both within a 60 mile radius.

Elkhart Public Schools

District Office (620) 697-2195




Rolla Public Schools

District Office (620) 593-4344

rolla Pirate.png

Morton County Library


410 Kansas Ave

(620)  697-2025


204 Van Buren

(620) 593-4328

County Youth Organizations


Morton County 4-H

Crystal Bashford


Rolla Scouts

Robert Fosdick